Graduate Evolution & Ecology Student Organization (GEES)


GEES is an organization for the EEOB Graduate Students. Its representatives serve on EEOB faculty and college committees, and each officer has a vote on matters that potentially concern the EEOB graduate students. The purpose of GEES shall be (1) to promote the professional, educational and intellectual advancement of the EEOB graduate students, (2) to provide a mechanism for students to express and address their concerns about the programs and policies of the EEOB Department, and (3) to provide a forum that will encourage the interaction between students of the multiple disciplines within the EEOB Department.

GEES Bylaws

GEES Events

GEES meets monthly for a business meeting and happy hour. In addition, GEES hosts several annual events. Our Darwin Talks have allowed graduate students to showcase their work at departmental seminars for over 30 years. For the past two years, the GEES Invited Speaker has presented a public seminar. Past speakers include Aaron Ellison (Harvard Forest) and John Hutchinson (Royal Veterinary College, University of London), and we look forward to hosting Alex Wild (University of Texas) for an upcoming talk. GEES also holds several social events each year, including a Spring BioBlitz, a Fall Campout, and the EEOB Holiday Party and Auction.

Officers (2018-2019)

EEOB graduate students contribute to GEES through elected positions. Several positions provide opportunities to serve alongside faculty on departmental committees.
President: Megan Smith
Secretary/Treasurer: Scott Martin
Facilitator: Natalie Hamilton
Fundraising Chair: Natalie Hamilton
Graduate Studies Committee Representatives: Jamin Wieringa, Paula Lado Henaise
Graduate Admissions Committee Representative: Ben Stone
Advisory Committee Representatives: Kali Mattingly, Rebecca Dillon
Curriculum Committee Representative: Ryan McCarthy
Diversity Committee Representative: Zoe Almeida
Seminar Committee Representatives: Zoe Almeida, Lyndsie Collis
Social Committee Representative: Alyssa Hassinger
Awards Committee Representative: Cody Cardenas
Communication Committee Representative: Whitney King
Council of Graduate Studies Representative: Alejandro Otero-Bravo
Museum of Biological Diversity Committee Representative: Heather Glon
E&E Club Representative: Cole Thompson

Other University Resources Include:

College of Arts and Sciences Office of Recruitment and Diversity Services

is a service office which partners with departments, centers, student organizations, and university units to ensure a supportive and thriving intellectual environment for diverse populations of students as they pursue advanced degrees. 

Council of Graduate Students

is an official branch of student government representing all graduate students across the university, addressing issues which directly affect them, and working to continually improve the graduate experience here.